News »

United Way Waterloo Region Communities’ 3rd Annual Virtual Spirit Awards

United Way Waterloo Region Communities’ 3rd Annual Virtual Spirit Awards

Waterloo Region - United Way Waterloo Region Communities (UWWRC) is pleased to invite community members to join in celebrating and honouring this year’s Virtual Spirit Award winners.

“Although we could not celebrate in person this year, our Spirit Awards are more important than ever,” says CEO Joan Fisk. “Without these generous people in our community we could not support all the frontline services and programs that play such a critical role in Waterloo Region. The pandemic has taught us that we are stronger together and it is only because of the support from workplaces, individuals and agencies in our community that we are able to react when needed and provide critical funds like our COVID-19 Response Fund. That is just one example of why it is still so important to recognize everyone’s dedication and compassion. We are facing issues we have never faced before and all our nominees and winners embody the spirit it will take for Waterloo Region to recover and build a strong future for us all.”

Without the exemplary dedication and commitment of donors and volunteers, United Way Waterloo Region Communities could not continue to do what needs to be done. “Our donors, agencies and volunteers are the heart of our community”, says United Way Waterloo Region Communities’ Board of Directors Chair, Samson Ling. “We have all experienced unprecedented challenges lately and we must make sure we are there when needed for the most vulnerable and support those that are doing the extremely challenging work on the frontlines.”

UWWRC is also proud to announce Mike Murray as the winner of the 2nd annual Ken Seiling Community Leader Award. This award recognizes an exemplary public leader who, through extraordinary contributions and outstanding commitment, has driven the spirit of community through personal involvement and initiative.

2020 Spirit Award Nominees and Winners

Rising Star:
Adam Lauder (City of Waterloo)
Lisa Armstrong & Brittany Kulchar (Carizon)
Brenda Jacobs & Jeff Hunter (Langs)
Winner: Wilfrid Laurier University

Labour Community Partnership:
Unifor Kitchener Regional Office
United Steelworkers Local 4610
Waterloo Region Labour Council
Winner: Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario, Waterloo Region

Spirit of Community:
Sydney Atwood, Conestoga College Student Engagement Committee
Carizon Family & Community Service
Tracy Elop
Tom Galloway
KW Counselling
Mike Murray
Pearle Group
Anne Tinker
The partnership of Sleep Country Canada, Region of Waterloo, Mill Creek Motor Freight, Argus Residence and UWWRC Donate a Bed Program
University of Waterloo Campaign Committee
Linda Zensner
Winner: Energy+

Outstanding Workplace Campaign (Large Organization):
Clarion Medical Technologies
Equitable Life
Sun Life Financial
Wilfrid Laurier University
Winner: Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada

Outstanding Workplace Campaign (Small to Mid-Size Organization)
BMO Financial Group
Carizon Family & Community Services
McCarter Grespan
Toyota Tsusho
Winner: Gowling WLG

Outstanding Volunteer Contribution
Bill Conway, Rockwell Automation
Veronica Chapman (KPMG)
Citizens for Cambridge
Lisamaree Cormier (Women's Crisis Services of Waterloo Region)
Robert Correll (UWWRC Cabinet Member)
Kristen Dansen
Lynn Hall
Steve Jennings
Lisa MacArthur (TLG)
Kim McLeod (City of Cambridge)
Ian Miles & Jane Hale- McDonald (Energy +)
Tammy Robinson – Simmons
Donald Paddock
Paul Rossi (KW Counselling Services)
Sunlife Campaign Committee
University of Waterloo Campaign Committee
Winner: EY Waterloo

Outstanding Agency
Cambridge Self Help FoodBank
Carizon Family & Community Services
Kinbridge Community Association
KW Counselling
The Literacy Group
The Working Centre
Winner: Carizon Family & Community Services

Home | Full Site | Submit News Listing
© Now Local Media Inc. Cambridge Now! TM